Living in a technological world, and I am a technological boy…

Is there a place for teaching our children how to code?

Is there a place for teaching our children how to code?

I fell into IT. Seriously, I was studying Mechanical Design until my course was abbreviated, removing any accreditation for any additional higher learning that I wanted to pursue. However, I topped both of my CAD (Computer Aided Drafting) classes and so I thought that maybe I should switch to Computer Sciences… and the rest is history.

However, these days, information technology pervades all aspects of our lives! As a father of two young children, I find myself wondering how much should I guide my children towards technology studies without having them glued to a computer screen 24/7? (which would get me killed by their mother!)

I have recently come across the following article which is about why you should be introducing your children to coding from an early age. Just having them learn the concepts of logic and problem solving can help a child understand how to tackle even non-IT problems with a structured approach, hopefully saving them a lot of frustration and angst.

Why your 8-year-old should be coding

One other point made in the article is this: There is very little innovation in the education sector with regards to schools today and what they are teaching our kids. They are teaching the same things that they have taught over the last 50 years, but only in different ways. As a parent, you need to look outside of the education square and find other ways to supplement your children’s learning… not only improve the quality of their education but to also feed the natural curiosity that we all start life with, but what a lot of us seem to lose somewhere along the way.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

